You have my loyalty

19:44 at Pulau Ubin

A few weeks ago, I went on a lovely dusk nature walk at Pulau Ubin with a lively group of inquisitive, curious young folk.  Amidst the thrills of the many critters and plants we saw, was that peaceful tranquility of the moment captured above.  My photo may not do the sight justice, but to me, it symbolises my gratitude for the beauty we are blessed with, and reminds me of the spirit of an extremely inspiring quotation I read at a recent workshop on outdoor education:

“You and I…
We meet as strangers, each carrying a mystery within us.
I cannot say who you are; I may never know you completely.
But I trust that you are a person in your own right,
possessed of a beauty and value that are the Earth’s richest treasures.

So I make this promise to you:
I will impose no identities upon you, but will invite you to become yourself without shame or fear.
I will hold open a space for you in the world and defend your right to fill it with an authentic vocation.
For as long as your search takes, you have my loyalty.”

– Theodore Roszak, Person/Planet: The Creative Disintegration of Industrial Society

For I hear that some of you young lovelies have found this little space – you know who you are. 
If you’re reading this, know that I am so very happy to have the privilege of crossing paths with you, and I look forward to the rest of our journey together.  This quote is my vow to you, each wonderful unique individual.  Fearlessly become yourselves – we are here for you as you walk this journey of finding and making meaning in your lives, as you are on ours, though you may not even know it.

P/S: Thank you for the cake, my dearies!  That was so sweet of you guys.  I could taste the love that went into it in every bite!

Leave a Reply

